Abracadabra the 1st

Welcome to my blog! If you are reading this, first of all, thanks! For clicking on my blog in the presence of the millions out there! I hope you enjoy reading about my life and the experiences that I look forward to sharing with you. I have been inspired by one of my best friends to start writing a blog. Not because I feel like what I have to say is really important or that I think I’m fabulous and the world should know and listen to me. But because I’ve realised that over the past couple of years, I’ve become rather closed off from my feelings and have had a lot of trouble expressing myself. I won’t bore you with the reasons and events that led to this, but in this new year I’ve decided to make a change and do things to bring back my expressive self. I thought a good way to do this would be to start this new blog! I hope to use it as a way of expressing my feelings, writing them up for keepsakes and hopefully sharing with people my thoughts and experiences as a 20-year-old medical student in a small country in a corner of the world.

A large part of my life is dominated by medical school so you may see many ranting posts about hospital life and how I’m learning to adjust, (This year will be the first of 3 years of my degree that I will be spending in hospital) as well as discussions of things related to the health profession. But I will try not to let that be the only thing I talk about as I also generally like to rant about people and wider society!

I suppose the name of my blog requires some explanation. As a kid, I was obsessed with code names and make-believe characters in imaginary games I used to play that always involved magic of some kind. This grew into a love of fantasy and all things outside reality. Abracadabra had always been a pseudonym of mine (if you can call it that). It featured in “secret letters” I wrote to my friends when I was much younger, in usernames for those childish websites like neopets (which I doubt anyone even knows about these days), it was my username for msn chats (also something that not many people would know about now) etc etc. The list goes on and on. I can’t really say what it was that made me take up this title Abracadabra. Perhaps it was that the first two letters are also the same first two letters of my name, but I think it was more about the connotations of this word. That something extraordinary would happen when it was spoken. You can imagine what that meant to a little kid full of wonder about the world around her. I always believed that there were magical things in this world and in life. But even years after that, I stuck to this title after finding out the origin of the word Abracadabra. Explained in one of my most favourite novels The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown as being of the Aramaic languages with the meaning “I create as I speak”. And instantly I fell more in love with the word because it was exactly what I imagined it to mean. That something amazing would be created as it was spoken and that something magical would happen (sorry if that sounds corny and childish, but for me it’s like being told that something you thought was not that great turned out to be way more amazing than you had hoped). To this day, the word Abracadabra reminds me to stay young at heart and appreciate that no matter how mundane and problematic life may seem sometimes, everyone has the power to create something magical and make life that much more special. Just remember to speak!
I also think the meaning applies to this blog I’ve started because while I’m not “speaking” in this blog, I hope by typing, I’m able to create a place that contains my thoughts and feelings and that they would actually be good. (not “magical” per se, but good.) And thus, the title Abracadabra was written in stone. Well actually as a bunch of black character pixels on your screen and on the internet (which, I guess, is essentially the same thing these days).
Right that’s enough for the first post. I really should have made this short and sweet but that hasn’t always worked out for me. So I don’t blame you if you’ve closed this window/ tab and gone somewhere else. But If you have made it this far, thanks again for reading and I hope the other posts soon to be on this blog are as interesting (that’s me pretending this post is interesting, in case that wasn’t clear!) So without further ado, let the blogging commence!

Leave a Reply

