The scene at the hairdresser

After 3 years of growing my hair out to a length that would challenge Rapunzel, I decided to get the chop. After having a proper farewell where all my friends mourned the impending loss of my hair, I was ready to get it cut. I have an extreme distrust of all hairdressers because they always tend to cut my hair miles shorter than I want, so I had a huge fear in addition to the heaviness in my heart. However, when I went to the hairdresser today, I gained two things. A pretty okay haircut, and a lesson.

The hairdresser was a lovely lady who introduced herself, asked me exactly what I wanted, complimented my long hair, and also joined in the mourning of it being cut. She then proceeded to make conversation while she was cutting. Upon finding out that I was a medical student, she began telling me about her experience in hospital only a couple of weeks ago where she had surgery that involved removing her stomach, removing liver scar tissue, and fixing a hernia. She had also had her gall bladder removed previously. What was remarkable for me during this exchange was how genuinely cheerful this woman was as she sharing with me an experience that she described as being both scary and traumatic. She stood before me, smiling, perfectly well as far as I could see, and back to work within 2 weeks. She told me that she was so grateful to the surgeons and nurses that looked after her and she was more than ready to go back to work because she felt great and hated staying in bed. She spoke of the new struggles she had to face due to the changes in her diet but also that she was trying to make sure she looked after herself and got all her nutrients. And so she had taken up drinking protein smoothies that she really began to love. Her positive nature was contagious.

I can’t say that were I in her place, I would be able to be as positive and as active as she was, so soon after what she went through. But she really made me want to try. I could tell she loved what she does and that made her want to return to work despite her condition. It was what made her turn her struggles into positive aspects that allowed her to keep living life and as happily as she could. It put a lot of things into perspective for me and I am so grateful for the conversation I had with her. I can only hope that should something of the sort ever happen to me, I am able to remember this lady and do my best to stay positive.

As for my hair, it is a tad shorter than how I wanted it, but not too much! So I’m not complaining! …Much

Leave a Reply

