Christmas Lights

Christmas has always been my favourite time of the year. And I’m pretty big on traditions.

In my city- Auckland, is a place called Franklin Road where all the houses put up lights as part of a street competition. (wouldn’t be a joyous holiday without a little “my house is better than thou”, now would it?)

Anyway, it’s quite a gimmick and worth going to see every year. For me anyway. I thought I’d share some of the sights I saw.

Santa in a train with presents! Very Christmas-y

But the house on the right is the clear winner here.

Now this one, is my favourite display on Franklin road. It’s been around for 2 years and is just stunning. But I cannot take credit for this particular shot. I think I’ve talked about my inability to explore different angles in photography. My original shot of this display looked more like this:

I was more focused on the deer rather than the whole scene. But a friend took a photo similar to the first 1 above. I was inspired and this year I just had to recreate it. So. Credit to HD and his unparalleled angle sense.

Just some other assorted decorations that put a smile on my face.

Overall, it was a pleasant night stroll. Oh and it was raining. Pleasant Christmas stroll indeed.

Leave a Reply

