Rain In Winter

I’ve been going on about June and winter a lot haven’t I? Well I enjoy season changes. And yet another thing that is great about July (as it is as of today)/winter are the intense rainy days that define winter of course.

Winter in New Zealand for everyone else in the world, means snow. And snow is amazing in New Zealand. Even a little bit of snow = days of excitement.

But I live in Auckland. To many people (myself included to a certain extent) is pretty useless. It’s just a city. There’s nothing you can say “omg Auckland has the best _____”. When friends come from overseas and ask me what there is to do in Auckland, they usually receive a very long “….ummmm” from me. Then some vague comments about the skytower and a beach. I mostly advise them to visit cities outside of Auckland where there is more charm.

But there is in fact two things that Auckland is famous notorious for.

  1. The weather
  2. The traffic

The latter I absolutely hate. Traffic in Auckland has the potential to turn what is usually a 15 minute drive, into up to 1.5 hours. Not exaggerating in the slightest.

The former, however, is something that never fails to stun me.

Today was a rainy/windy/cold day. It was the perfect day to stay indoors leaning against a window and listen to the forceful patter of rain on my window and the howling of the wind

The wind is howling like this swirling storm insi- yeah no. Let’s not go there. xD 

And incredibly, some time later, the rain would stop completely. Such that there’s complete silence outside. Then a soft wind with cloudy skies. As though threatening to open again to let the rain pour. I love this interim. Going for a walk in this climate is one of my most favourite things to do. And I did just that. Admiring the effect the rain has on everything. It seems to make everything softer. Trees, flowers, road, everything has a dewy hue that is much easier on the eyes. 

This is something you’d only get in Auckland. My old chemistry teacher once told someone that “if you don’t like the weather in Auckland, leave for two hours and come back”. Because that’s how quickly it changes. 

And in winter, it’s the best thing ever. I’ve developed a fondness for walking in the rain. And the wind, and the cloudy-ness. 

I would have liked to attach a photo to this post, but I love my camera too much to risk it in the rain. Maybe I shall attach one later, taken while indoors. 

For now, I have to complete a monster assignment for this GP run and studying for my test. While listening to the rain of course. It’s doing wonders in keeping me company and calming me down while I stress over this. 

Ahh. Rain. 

Leave a Reply

